Municipalities & Religious Groups

170 municipalities as important partners

In Switzerland, public functions are shared by the federal government, cantons and municipalities. Admittedly, for a layman, it is not always easy to understand who is responsible for what. Surveys have shown that the municipalities in the Canton of Zurich enjoy a relatively high degree of autonomy compared with other cantons.

The Department of Justice and Home Affairs is responsible for the contact to the municipalities in the Canton of Zurich. The Office of Municipalities assigned to it is also responsible for the monitoring of municipalities, and in addition, it organises trainings for members of the authorities and audit services. It also takes care of the granting of the cantonal citizenship and is in charge of the civil status system.

One of the most important topics in this area is financial equalisation between the Canton and the municipalities without which many municipalities would not be able to survive.

State and Religion

The Canton of Zurich officially recognises the Evangelical Reformed, the Roman Catholic and the Swiss Old-Catholic Churches, in addition to the Israelitische Cultusgemeinde(Jewish Community) and the Jewish Liberal Community. There is also contact to Muslim Associations and other religions, given that the exchange with religious organisations also falls within the scope of our Department.

Communes & communautés religieuses

170 communes : d'importants partenaires

En suisse, la Confédération, les cantons et les communes se partagent les différentes missions de service public. Pour le non-spécialiste, avouons-le, il n'est pas toujours aisé de reconnaître du premier coup qui est responsable de tel ou tel domaine. Des études ont montré que les communes du canton de Zurich bénéficient d'une autonomie relativement élevée par rapport à celles des autres cantons.

Dans le canton de Zurich, c'est la Direction de la justice et de l'intérieur qui est chargée des relations avec les communes. L'Office des communes associé à cette Direction est également responsable du contrôle des communes, il organise en outre des formations pour les membres de l'administration et offre des services d'audit. L'octroi du droit de cité cantonal et l'état-civil font également partie de ces missions.

La péréquation financière entre le canton et les communes, sans laquelle beaucoup de communes ne pourraient pas survivre, est un des thèmes importants de ce département.

Etat et religion

Dans le canton de Zurich, l'église réformée évangélique, l'église catholique-romaine et l'église catholique chrétienne sont reconnues par l'Etat. Sont également reconnus le Consistoire israélite et la communauté juive libérale. Aussi, les contacts avec les associations islamiques et avec d'autres religions sont entretenus, car l'échange avec les communautés religieuses est également du ressort de notre direction.