Criminal Law & Enforcement

Prosecution as a public service

Criminal law represents the biggest share within the Department of Justice and Home Affairs. It includes the prosecution of criminal offences committed by minors or adult perpetrators. It also deals with the enforcement of sentences, i.e. prisons, the high-security Penal Institution of Pöschwies and the Massnahmenzentrum Uitikon, a facility where young adults can learn a trade in a secure or day-release environment.

The public prosecutors deal with the prosecution of adults. They carry out the prosecution, prosecute the alleged perpetrator and represent the state in procedures before the court. The prosecution differentiates between regional and specific Offices of the Public Prosecutor. While the regional Office deals with a multitude of offences throughout the Canton, the specific Office of the Public Prosecutor has a specialisation, e.g. in violent crimes, white-collar offences or drug offences, under the supervision of the Office of the Chief Public Prosecutor.

The regional District Attorneys for Minors are responsible for young offenders. They also carry on a prosecution, but only against accused persons who had been minors at the moment the crime was committed. The District Attorneys for Minors are under the supervision of the Chief Public Prosecutor for Minors.

Different facets of Law Enforcement

The Office for the Execution of Penal Sentences and Justice (OEPSJ) is responsible for the execution of sentences and for the remand in custody pending trial, preventive detention and detention pending deportation as well as for measures. It is also in charge of the corresponding facilities, like prisons and the Penal Institution. The Psychiatric-Psychological Service also falls within the scope of the OEPSJ and deals with the detainees on the one hand and with therapies for perpetrators on the other hand and also offers research activities in the area of forensic psychiatry. In addition, different experts deal with the task of helping the perpetrator to reintegrate into society.

Droit pénal & exécution

La poursuite pénale au service du public

Le droit pénal est le domaine principal de la Direction de la justice et de l'intérieur. Cela comprend la poursuite des infractions commises par des mineurs et des majeurs. Tout comme l'exécution des peines, c'est-à-dire les prisons, l'établissement pénitentiaire de Pöschwies placé sous haute sécurité et le centre d'exécution des mesures de Uitikon, où de jeunes adultes suivent une formation en milieu fermé ou ouvert.

La poursuite pénale des majeurs est du ressort des procureurs. Ceux-ci gèrent les procédures pénales, inculpent les auteurs présumés d'une infraction et représente l'Etat lors des procès. La poursuite pénale est divisée en ministères publics régionaux et en ministères publics chargés des affaires spéciales. Tandis que les ministères publics régionaux, répartis sur le canton, poursuivent une multitude de délits, les ministères publics chargés des affaires spéciales sont spécialisés, par exemple dans les actes délictueux de violence, les infractions économiques ou les infractions en matière de stupéfiants. Ces ministères publics sont sous la direction du Parquet général.

Les procureurs régionaux des mineurs s'occupent des jeunes délinquants, mènent également les procédures pénales, mais uniquement à l'encontre des inculpés qui n'étaient pas encore majeurs au moment des faits. Les procureurs des mineurs sont subordonnés au ministère public des mineurs.

L'étendue de l'exécution judiciaire

L'Office de l'exécution judiciaire (EJ) est chargé de l'exécution des peines ordonnées, de la détention provisoire, de la détention pour des motifs de sûreté et de la détention en vue du refoulement ainsi que de l'exécution des mesures. Il dirige également les établissements nécessaires à cela (prisons, établissement pénitentiaire). Fait également partie de l'EJ le Service de psychiatrie et de psychologie, qui d'une part suit les détenus, d'autre part propose des thérapies aux auteurs d'une infraction et réalise des recherches dans le domaine de la psychiatrie légale. En outre, certains spécialistes ont la charge d'aider les auteurs d'une infraction à se réinsérer socialement.